Noah’s Board

Learn more about their board here!

Governed by professionals

Noah’s board members are all professional people with extensive expertise in the corporate world. This ensures that Noah is run according to best business practice.

Mr Anthony Phillips (Chairman)

Tony Phillips retired from Barloworld Ltd at the end of 2006 after a career of 38 years with the group; he acted as CEO of the group, and was chairman of PPC Company Ltd. In addition to chairing Noah, he is a director of WWF and the Joburg Art Bank. Furthermore Tony is an associate Governor of Michael House School and a trustee of the Bright Kids Foundation (Edutainers). He is currently non-executive chairman of Austro Group Ltd, Kwikspace Modular Buildings (Pty) Ltd, Newman Lowther and Associates, Mpact Ltd., Wasteman Holdings (pty) Ltd vice chairman of Freeworld coatings Ltd. and a non-executive director of Eqstra Holdings Ltd.

Dr Gregory Ash (Vice Chairman)

Dr Greg Ash, a plastic and reconstructive surgeon, is currently in private practice in Umhlanga in KwaZulu-Natal, and holds a part time post at the Nelson Mandela Medical School. He graduated at the University of the Witwatersrand in 1982 with his MBBCh and was in the first decile of his graduating class. He obtained his specialisation in Plastic Surgery from the University of the Witwatersrand. Greg has served on the executive committee of the Association of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons of Southern Africa from 1997 to 2004.

Dr Lillian Cingo

Lillian Cingo has been the Manager of The Phelophepa Train since 1995. The Train brings health care to rural South Africans. Her motto is “Health for all, physically and emotionally, hand-in-hand with reconciliation and nation building.” Lillian is a nurse and a counselling psychologist. She holds a postgraduate qualification in neuro-surgical discipline, a diploma in psychology, a certificate in counselling, a masters degree in counselling psychology and a certificate in HIV/AIDS counselling. In August 2003 she was awarded the Exceptional Leader Award by Transnet, for the most Exceptional Community Builder.

Mr Justin Corbett

Justin holds a B.Com (Hons) in Economics, and is COO of Rand York Castings. Justin Corbett completed his schooling at Michaelhouse and graduated from Rhodes University. The focus of his academic studies was small business development and deregulated stock exchanges. He has resided in both the United States and United Kingdom. The company of which he is COO, Rand York Castings, is a developer and fabricator of special steel profiles which are used mostly within the civil and mining sectors.

Ms Jane Evans

Jane Evans, a pioneer in rural pre-school education in South Africa, founded Ntataise in 1980 to help women in poor rural areas gain the knowledge and skills to establish early childhood development programmes for children in their communities. Ntataise received the first Presidential award from Nelson Mandela. In 1988, Jane was given the “Woman of the Year” award. She is currently a trustee of the Thusanang Trust and the Helen Suzman Foundation.

Mr Alan Knott-Craig

Alan qualified as a Chartered Accountant (SA) in 2002. In 2003 he founded South Africa’s first location-based mobile services company, Cellfind. After founding a range of new businesses in the telecommunications industry, he was appointed Managing Director of iBurst in 2006. In April 2008 he pubished Don’t Panic, a collection of stories explaining why people live in South Africa. In May 2008, Alan founded “The Trust”, a not-for-profit website that provides a platform for individuals to locate accredited charities and easily make financial contributions. Says Alan: “I love South Africa, I want to live here forever, I want my children to live here forever. All South Africans have a part to play in ensuring our country has a bright future.”

Dr Mduduzi “Dudu” Kunene

Dr Mduduzi Fortune Kunene is currently Executive Director at Kunene Holdings. His chairmanship positions include: Non-Executive Chairman for Cisco Advisory Board; Chairman for Glenrand M.I.B Limited. Dudu previously worked as an Anaesthetist (Private Practice), a Practitioner (Private Practice), and a Medical Officer at the Natalspruit Hospital.

Dr Naledi Moyo-Ndwandwe

Dr Naledi Moyo-Ndwandwe completed her Doctorate in Philosophy in Social Sciences at Edinburgh University, Scotland. Since then she has played a comprehensive role in government, with special focus on education, policy development, economic development, promoting South Africa as an investment destination and connecting local business to global markets. She does a lot of community work and is associated with the Gift of the Givers Foundation, a leading South African humanitarian organisation. Until recently she was at the helm of the World Association of Investments Agencies as its Vice President based in Geneva.

Mr Geoff Rothschild

Geoff Rothschild is an immediate past Chairman of the JSE and was a member of the board from 1991 – 2008. Geoff currently holds the position of Director: Government and International Affairs promoting the JSE. Geoff focuses on African Stock Exchanges, is Chairman of the Committee of SADC Stock Exchanges (CoSSE) and an Executive of the African Stock Exchange Association (ASEA). He is a Director of the NEPAD Business Foundation and on their Operating Committee and a Director of the Football Foundation of South Africa. He is a Council Member of the National Advisory Council for Innovation (NACI) which advises the Minister of Science and Technology, serving on sub-committees with the Council for Higher Education and Innovation for Development and an Honorary Fellow of the Da Vinci Institute of Technology. He also assists various charitable organisations such as CHOC and Education Africa.

Krishna Govender (Secretary of the Board)